Royal Forth Yacht Club
Watersports at Granton

Jamie Calder Wins UK Championship

Jamie has won the UK Youth National Championships in the Laser Radial class.

Youths 2014 podium
The event took place in Weymouth from 12 – 18 April and is for sailors under the age of nineteen. There were 106 Laser Radials in Jamie’s fleet.  At fifteen Jamie is the youngest Radial sailor to win this prestigious event and will now represent The British Sailing Team at the ISAF World Youth Championships in Tavira, Portugal this July. The ISAF World Youth Championships is like a youth Olympics as only one sailor represents each country per class.

Youths 2014 Final day 2

While competing at Weymouth Jamie met Princess Anne, patron of RFYC and of the RYA. She was watching the racing for the day on Thursday 17th.

Well done Jamie!

Links to other articles

RYA  news events – British Youth Sailing Team confirmed

RYA Scotland News

Yachts and Yachting News – Day 4

Yachts and Yachting Overall Results

Upcoming Events

  1. Lift In

    Thursday, April 18
  2. Lift In (Reserve Day)

    Friday, April 19
  3. RNLI Lifejacket Safety Check and CPR Training

    Saturday, April 27 @ 10:30 am - 1:00 pm
  4. Opening Regatta

    Saturday, May 4
  5. Scottish Squib Championships

    Saturday, May 4 - Sunday, May 5
  6. Push the Boat Out (Open Day)

    Sunday, May 19 @ 1:30 pm - 5:00 pm
  7. Helgoland Race arrives

    Wednesday, June 12 - Friday, June 14
  8. Edinburgh Regatta

    Saturday, June 29 - Sunday, June 30
  9. Festival Series (1)

    Tuesday, August 6 @ 6:00 pm
  10. Festival Series (2)

    Wednesday, August 7 @ 6:00 pm

Live AIS and Charts

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram