Royal Forth Yacht Club
Watersports at Granton

Sailing Solo Around the Shetland Islands – Winner 2014 Log Competition

Geoffrey Bowler is a fairly new member but he entered the log competition this year with a log on his journey round the Shetlands and Orkney.  The log was full of detail and pictures and it was judged to be this year’s winner.

Shetland journey

In his epilogue to the journey Goffrey says:

I have crewed and skippered yachts out of Oban, around Mull, Iona, Staffa and the Treshnish Isles,  the Firth of Clyde and Northern Ireland, the Outer Hebrides, the Solent, the Atlantic from Cascais to Madeira and the Canaries; Gibraltar and Ceuta;  Spain and the Balearics; the West coast of Norway: the Andaman Sea from Phuket; Langkawi, Malaysia.  And the Norfolk Broads and River Thames from Teddington to Oxford.  Comma has sailed the East coast in the Firth of Forth and from Inverness to Whitby.

But sailing solo around Shetland, and some of Orkney, has given more satisfaction and sense of achievement than anywhere else to date.

Here is his winning log:

Sailing Solo Around the Shetland Islands

Upcoming Events

  1. Lift Out

    Monday, October 22
  2. Autumn Series 7,8

    Saturday, October 27 @ 3:00 pm
  3. Sunday 4th November – Fancy Dress Fireworks Disco 4 p.m. – £5 per person

    Sunday, November 4 @ 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  4. Winter Talk

    Wednesday, November 7 @ 7:00 pm
  5. Prizegiving

    Saturday, November 17
  6. AGM

    Thursday, November 22
  7. Wednesday 5th December – A West Coast Voyage – 2018 presented by Brian Roberston 7 for 7:30 pm

    Wednesday, December 5 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  8. Christmas lunch

    Friday, December 14
  9. Visitors from Port Edgar

    Wednesday, January 2, 2019 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  10. Winter Talk

    Wednesday, January 9, 2019 @ 7:00 pm

Live AIS and Charts

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram