Royal Forth Yacht Club
Watersports at Granton

Winter talks start Thurs 2nd Feb

The Winter Talks will be starting soon and to whet your appetite, the first two talks are from well-known and illustrious members, John Spencely CBE and Mark Primrose.

John Spencely receiving the club’s largest trophy – possibly wondering where he is going to put it!

John will be kicking things off on Thursday 2nd February at 7.30pm, by reading some of his favourite sailing readings:

1) “Fastnet 1979” by John Maclean, the skipper of Fluter, a Contessa 32. Utterly gripping! 8 pages.
2) “The Recovery of the Dubai Valour” by Douglas J Lindsay. Skullduggery up the creek in Nigeria. 11 pages.
3) The sail reefing episode from “We didn’t mean to go to sea” by Arthur Ransome. 10 pages.

He has asked that members might like to bring along interesting short extracts that inspired their own sailing, to share with the audience?
Mark Primrose, with his great knowledge of the technical side of boats, will, on Thursday 9th february at 7.30pm, be sharing his experience with a talk entitled ‘How not to build a boat’.
Miss this at your peril if you are interested in or contemplating doing more than simply polishing your boat!

 

We will keep you up to speed as the remaining dates firm up.

With best wishes from the House and Social Cmte

Upcoming Events

  1. Lift In

    Thursday, April 18
  2. Lift In (Reserve Day)

    Friday, April 19
  3. RNLI Lifejacket Safety Check and CPR Training

    Saturday, April 27 @ 10:30 am - 1:00 pm
  4. Opening Regatta

    Saturday, May 4
  5. Scottish Squib Championships

    Saturday, May 4 - Sunday, May 5
  6. Push the Boat Out (Open Day)

    Sunday, May 19 @ 1:30 pm - 5:00 pm
  7. Helgoland Race arrives

    Wednesday, June 12 - Friday, June 14
  8. Edinburgh Regatta

    Saturday, June 29 - Sunday, June 30
  9. Festival Series (1)

    Tuesday, August 6 @ 6:00 pm
  10. Festival Series (2)

    Wednesday, August 7 @ 6:00 pm

Live AIS and Charts

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram