Winter talks start Thurs 2nd Feb

The Winter Talks will be starting soon and to whet your appetite, the first two talks are from well-known and illustrious members, John Spencely CBE and Mark Primrose.

John Spencely receiving the club’s largest trophy – possibly wondering where he is going to put it!

John will be kicking things off on Thursday 2nd February at 7.30pm, by reading some of his favourite sailing readings:

1) “Fastnet 1979” by John Maclean, the skipper of Fluter, a Contessa 32. Utterly gripping! 8 pages.
2) “The Recovery of the Dubai Valour” by Douglas J Lindsay. Skullduggery up the creek in Nigeria. 11 pages.
3) The sail reefing episode from “We didn’t mean to go to sea” by Arthur Ransome. 10 pages.

He has asked that members might like to bring along interesting short extracts that inspired their own sailing, to share with the audience?
Mark Primrose, with his great knowledge of the technical side of boats, will, on Thursday 9th february at 7.30pm, be sharing his experience with a talk entitled ‘How not to build a boat’.
Miss this at your peril if you are interested in or contemplating doing more than simply polishing your boat!

 

We will keep you up to speed as the remaining dates firm up.

With best wishes from the House and Social Cmte

VISITORS

For visitor facilities: click here.

Wind and Tide

For current wind at Braefoot Bay and Ichcolm Island, click here.

For current tidal height and wind for Leith: click here.

To download 2017 tide tables, courtesy of Forth Ports Ltd: click here .

Live AIS and Charts

To see live AIS feed, click here
To see and explore Navionics digital charts, click here

2017 Sailing Instructions

2017 Sailing Instructions: click here

2017 Sailing Calendar

2017 Sailing calendar: click here

Join us on Facebook!

To navigate to our Facebook page
click here

Read the 2017 yearbook on line!

Upcoming Events

  1. JPR 5 Crawford Cup/ FCYC Scott Shield

    Saturday, August 19 @ 11:00 am
  2. Cruise in company 5/6

    Sunday, August 20
  3. Late Evening Points 7/7

    Thursday, August 24 @ 6:30 pm
  4. Dinghy Racing 4/4

    Friday, August 25 @ 6:30 pm
  5. Joint Fri White Sail SC 8/8

    Friday, August 25 @ 6:30 pm
  6. Wine Tasting

    Saturday, August 26 @ 7:30 pm
  7. FIG Div 1&2 DBSC Gavin Adamson

    Sunday, August 27
  8. Practice Races Session 4/4

    Wednesday, August 30 @ 6:30 pm
  9. East Coast Sailing Festival 2017

    Friday, September 1 - Monday, September 4
  10. DBSC Dinghy Regatta

    Saturday, September 2 - Sunday, September 3

Latest Forum Posts