Royal Forth Yacht Club
Watersports at Granton

Cruise in Company – Sunday 23rd September 2018

This was the final C in C of the 2018 season and, with a favourable forecast of sunshine and a westerly breeze, it was hopefully going to be an enjoyable day.

On a bright sunny day with a rising tide there is nothing nicer to do than go on a leisurely sail to Aberdour and so we set off upriver in a pleasant F3/4 to the west end of Inchcolm. The fleet today consisted of Amare, Gonzo, Idothea, Solveig and Tidecatcher. The tide helped us through between Oxcars and the Calves (some of us made it on a tighter line through between Inchmickery and the Cow & Calves) and soon we were rounding the west end of Inchcolm Island and heading east through Mortimer’s Deep.

Soon we were entering the harbour and mooring up against the harbour wall. Aberdour was its usual sleepy self and the group enjoyed a lazy lunch, spiced up of course with the usual nautical banter.

Heading back to Granton mid-afternoon the westerly breeze stayed constant and we enjoyed a cracking sail back to base with minimal adjustment of sails necessary.

Another fine cruising day and a fitting one to end the 2018 season.

 B Robertson

Upcoming Events

  1. Open Sailing 2

    Thursday, June 20 @ 5:30 pm
  2. Early Evening 6/6

    Thursday, June 20 @ 7:00 pm
  3. Friday White Sail 4 C

    Friday, June 21 @ 7:00 pm
  4. Coronation Cup

    Saturday, June 22 @ 4:30 pm
  5. DBSC Four Inches (Forth Series Div 1&2)

    Sunday, June 23
  6. Mid Evening Points 1/5

    Tuesday, June 25 @ 7:00 pm
  7. Mid Evening Points 2/5

    Wednesday, June 26 @ 7:15 pm
  8. Long weekend Cruise in Company start

    Thursday, June 27
  9. Edinburgh Regatta

    Saturday, June 29 - Sunday, June 30
  10. FCYC/RFYC Edinburgh Regatta (Forth Series Div 1&2) 1

    Saturday, June 29

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram

Live AIS and Charts