Royal Forth Yacht Club
Watersports at Granton

Centenary of an extraordinary event on the Forth happening on Wednesday 21 November

Wednesday 21 November 2018 is the centenary of an extraordinary event on the Forth. Just over a week after the Armistice, the German High Seas Fleet surrendered to the Royal Navy. There were about 440 warships  (370 of these were Royal Navy and Allies) in the Forth! This was the only time the Royal Navy and German Navy had met at sea after the Battle of Jutland 31 May – 1 June 1916. For more information and background, please view documentaries available at https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2xchyr and https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2xci6m .

There is a commemoration of this event at South Queensferry starting 7pm on Wednesday 21 November. If at rather short notice you would like to come please get in touch with RFYC member Lorne Byatt: homebyatt@btinternet.com

 

Upcoming Events

  1. Open Sailing 2

    Thursday, June 20 @ 5:30 pm
  2. Early Evening 6/6

    Thursday, June 20 @ 7:00 pm
  3. Friday White Sail 4 C

    Friday, June 21 @ 7:00 pm
  4. Coronation Cup

    Saturday, June 22 @ 4:30 pm
  5. DBSC Four Inches (Forth Series Div 1&2)

    Sunday, June 23
  6. Mid Evening Points 1/5

    Tuesday, June 25 @ 7:00 pm
  7. Mid Evening Points 2/5

    Wednesday, June 26 @ 7:15 pm
  8. Long weekend Cruise in Company start

    Thursday, June 27
  9. Edinburgh Regatta

    Saturday, June 29 - Sunday, June 30
  10. FCYC/RFYC Edinburgh Regatta (Forth Series Div 1&2) 1

    Saturday, June 29

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram

Live AIS and Charts