Royal Forth Yacht Club
Watersports at Granton

Our cruising grounds

Royal Forth Yacht Club enjoys a dramatic backdrop of Edinburgh castle and access straight on to open water, perfect for cruising as well as racing .

DSC_0320

Granton Harbour opens out onto the middle of the Firth of Forth which is a wonderful cruising ground.  With the islands of Inchcolm, Inchkeith and Inchmickery within easy reach there is much more on offer than just cruising in open water.  A short sail to Inchcolm, anchor for a picnic in the shadow of the ruined Abbey and then round past the Haystack to run back home makes for a wonderful day out.

Though mostly drying there is a also a wealth of scenic harbours for day sailing along the Fife coast.  Aberdour is the closest and each year we try to have a cruise in company to this lovely little harbour.  Traveling further down river are the beautiful harbours of Elie, Pitenweem and Anstruther as well as  North Berwick on the south shore .

For the more ambitious there is the Isle of May and then St Andrews, Tayport and Montrose with a visit to the Bell Rock en route or alternatively headed south past the Bass Rock you get to Dunbar and then Eyemouth.

For a different view head up river and you get to the bridges and the small silted up harbours of the upper Forth.

The website of the FYCA (Forth Yacht Clubs’ Association) has a series of fascinating articles about places of interest around the Forth Estuary, and accounts of voyages and other adventures – click here to view.

These are truly wonderful cruising grounds and all within a day or two sailing.

Upcoming Events

  1. Autumn Series 5,6

    Saturday, October 20 @ 11:00 am
  2. Lift Out

    Monday, October 22
  3. Autumn Series 7,8

    Saturday, October 27 @ 3:00 pm
  4. Sunday 4th November – Fancy Dress Fireworks Disco 4 p.m. – £5 per person

    Sunday, November 4 @ 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  5. Winter Talk

    Wednesday, November 7 @ 7:00 pm
  6. Prizegiving

    Saturday, November 17
  7. AGM

    Thursday, November 22
  8. Wednesday 5th December – A West Coast Voyage – 2018 presented by Brian Roberston 7 for 7:30 pm

    Wednesday, December 5 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  9. Christmas lunch

    Friday, December 14
  10. Visitors from Port Edgar

    Wednesday, January 2, 2019 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Live AIS and Charts

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram