Royal Forth Yacht Club
Watersports at Granton

VHF Channels

This is the information we currently have about use of VHF channels in the Forth Estuary area. (This is based on the best information we have been able to find but we cannot guarantee it is complete and up to date.)

Emergency and Coastguard Ch: 16

Forth and Tay Navigation Service Ch: 71 (Please listen out on this frequency when in main shipping channel)

Forth Pilots (& pilot cutter) Ch: 72

RFYC race management Ch: 37 -(N1 – M1)

RFYC club house listens out on Ch: 37-(N1 – M1)

Recommended channel for yacht-to-yacht communication Ch: 37-(N1 – M1)

Leith Harbour Ch: 12

Grangemouth Harbour Masters Ch: 14

Port Edgar Marina Ch: 80

Dunbar Harbour Ch: 6/12

Anstruther Harbour Ch: 11

Methil Harbour: Ch 14

For a full listing of UK coastal VHF channels: click here

The marine VHF weather report channels changed in September 2017. Click here to see the new channels and times.

The MCA Maritime Safety Information broadcasts, giving local inshore forecasts, are now on VHF channels 62, 63 and 64. In our local area, the channels are:

Craigkelly (the huge mast behind Burntisland) – Ch 63

Fife Ness – Ch 62

St Abbs Head – Ch 64.

VHF and Navtex coverage maps, and a summary of GMDSS procedures for small boats, are shown on this MCA leaflet on the RYA website.

Upcoming Events

  1. Lift Out

    Monday, October 22
  2. Autumn Series 7,8

    Saturday, October 27 @ 3:00 pm
  3. Sunday 4th November – Fancy Dress Fireworks Disco 4 p.m. – £5 per person

    Sunday, November 4 @ 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  4. Winter Talk

    Wednesday, November 7 @ 7:00 pm
  5. Prizegiving

    Saturday, November 17
  6. AGM

    Thursday, November 22
  7. Wednesday 5th December – A West Coast Voyage – 2018 presented by Brian Roberston 7 for 7:30 pm

    Wednesday, December 5 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  8. Christmas lunch

    Friday, December 14
  9. Visitors from Port Edgar

    Wednesday, January 2, 2019 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  10. Winter Talk

    Wednesday, January 9, 2019 @ 7:00 pm

Live AIS and Charts

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram